Imagen de avatar graphics tablet for digital drawing painting sketching
tianxin

The Best Display Drawing Tablet for Beginners: XP-Pen Artist 15.6 Pro Review

I’m a newbie artist who is getting into digital art because I really liked drawing on my Pixelbook but wanted something better, both with hardware as well as software. I really liked being able to rotate and move the canvas with my fingers while drawing on the Pixelbook. This made digital art very enjoyable and functional. I was concerned I would miss this on a cheaper pen display without touch.

I considered the iPad Pro but feared the price and that iOS would ultimately frustrate and limit me. The Wacom Cintiq 16 is also more expensive and did not have any buttons at all, so I worried how that would affect my workflow. Ultimately I decided on the XP-Pen Artist 15.6 Pro Drawing Tablet With Screen because of the price and functionality.

On the Pixelbook I used the Sketchbook Pro Android app and with the Pro 15.6 I now use Clip Studio Pro (“CSP”) on Windows and don’t think I’ll be going back to Sketchbook.

Dial and Buttons

I don’t really miss the lack of touch on this display because of the dial and buttons. I think I may actually prefer the dial and buttons to touch because there’s no inadvertent touches. I’ve programmed the dial to both rotate and zoom in/out the canvas in both Sketchbook and CSP.

One button switches between both functions (thanks to another reviewer for the pro tip!). Another button allows me to move the canvas with the pen while I hold it down (space bar).

Even though reviewers say the Cintiq 16 has better line quality, I don’t want to give up the dial and buttons now, even if the price was the same. Being able to easily rotate the display allows me to physically draw better lines.

Line quality