Imagen de avatar graphics tablet for digital drawing painting sketching
tianxin

XP-Pen Artist 13.3 Pro 2019 laminated pen display Review : there’s much for digital artists and designers to love

I’ve been using an Intuos (using a Pro M now) for around six years, It was a model that didn’t have a display screen. and I’ve been using the iPad Pro+pencil combination for a little over a year. I do 2d digital art semi-professionally, mostly involving linework/comics. The software I use (Clip Studio Paint) is available both on Windows and IOS.

The best thing about a pen display is drawing directly on the screen. It’s easier to be accurate and you don’t have to develop the hand-eye coordination of looking at a screen vs where your hand is. Besides that, there’s basically no difference, as long as you have a good monitor.

Wacom is expensive and they can justify their prices by having market dominance in the drawing tablet and monitor industry, but other brands have released products that work just as good for a lot less.

Wacom is the industry standard, so you pay a premium for a premium product that all the professionals use. But after reading and watching reviews of the other tablet brands, I decided to buy XP-PEN Artist 13.3 Pro because it was my first drawing monitor purchase and it was only a little over $300. Other than its small screen, I really have nothing bad to say about it and I enjoy drawing on it.

I’ve had the XP-PEN Artist13.3 Pro since August and I absolutely love it. The display is big and beautiful and there’s no lag. The screen feels great to draw on. Not exactly “like paper” as some have said, but it definitely feels nice. Nice glide but with just enough resistance to feel like an authentic drawing experience.

It’s super good, every version gets amazingly better, it’s also very large, great for animating and painting for 1/3rd the price of a Cintiq.

First Impressions

The product arrived on time.The packaging was pretty impressive .